Chapter Two.

Farewell Vermont. You will be missed. It’s back to North Carolina we have gone.

We would be lying if we said we didn’t struggle with leaving; funny because we only moved to Vermont for Harrison to attend culinary school. But we ended up falling in love with the area with its contagious locavore lifestyle and deeply rooted good food community.


And we continue to crave the breads…

The cheeses…

The hidden treasures…


The beer…


I like to say that it was in Vermont that I finally entered food rehab. I went from microwaving to making from scratch; from drive-thrus  to farm stands; from cans and boxes to picking and canning. We moved for Harrison but in the end we think it might have been equally for me.

In Vermont my passion for food grew ten-fold. And so did my love for working side by side with Harrison. He cooks and I photograph. He explains how-to and I write. He learns hands-on and I read his textbooks to ask questions. He executes our event menus flawlessly and I make sure our guests are enjoying themselves. He continues to inspire me. I continue to challenge him.

Isn’t it funny where life leads you when you just let loose and let it?  If you were to ask me a year and a half ago if I could see myself working side by side with him day to day I would have thought you were nuts. But today I can’t think of any other place I would rather be.

For us, life has led us back to North Carolina to give his mom some much needed support with her thriving catering business with him in the kitchen and me in the office with coordination. And we’re looking forward to using our passions to create lasting food memories for clients.

While we’re here, we also strive to create new farm to table experiences with the community in our home state. Ultimately, it is our dream to one day have a small farm and cafe and do it all on one site. We’ll see…

So although the New England culinary adventure has ended, we know that a whole new adventure is about to unfold. We hope you’ll continue to join us here to share in new inspiration and continue to celebrate the community that food builds with us.

Hello Winston-Salem. Here goes…

2 responses

  1. Recipe for:

    SPREADING THE LOVE

    Ingredients: 1 Andrea
    1 Harrison

    Put ingredients in a truck. Add one Turtle. Drive them up to Vermont and then up and down and around the east coast now and then. Leave them to their own devices as they make themselves into a contagious whirlwind. Laugh often as you pour in hot coffee and cupcakes weekly. Remind them how awesome and talented they are as they will be feeding you soon. Thank God you know them.

    You may miss Vermont, but Vermont misses you more.

    xo
    the other a

    • a, there are no words to express just how much we adore and appreciate you. Always there with just the right blend of encouragement and wit… you’re the best kind of gift.

      until we drink coffee with our cupcakes again, xoxo – the other a.

Leave a Reply

