Raspberry Dream

Would you believe that our little red cabin in the woods came with an entire field of red raspberries? I mean talk about amenities – rhubarb and now this!

Of course, there was a catch. Isn’t there always? Pesky overgrown brush was blocking our access. So it was up to us to find a way to get through it. Luckily, Harrison loves a good challenge. And me? Well, I love cheering him on…while swaying in my hammock.

So last month he headed out on a mission with machete in hand. Off he went and in a mere hour, that pesky overgrown field was transformed into a national park-like raspberry oasis.

I couldn’t believe it. I offered up a standing ovation.

And wouldn’t you know it, he has had me out there picking raspberries in that field like it’s my job ever since.




We’ve been swimming in raspberries – by the handful, on oatmeal, over ice cream, in salads. It’s been a dream. Personally my favorite concoctions have been his syrups and dressings, including this base created with crystallized ginger and vanilla bean.






Ingredients:

  • (2) pints of raspberries
  • (3/4) cup of cold water
  • (1/4) to (1/2) cup of cane sugar (depending on your preferred level of sweetness)
  • (1) vanilla bean, cut in 1/2 and scored
  • (1/4) cup of crystallized ginger, rough chopped

Directions:

1. Combine all ingredients and bring to a rolling simmer.

2. Cut heat to low and simmer for 10 – 15 minutes.

3. Remove from heat and then strain.

          – add a thickener to make a sauce or coulis

          – add vinegar to make a dressing

          – add pectin to make a jelly

           – or use the syrup as a cocktail base.

Here are a few other raspberry inspirations that have caught my eye:
Chocolate Raspberry Jam from Love and Olive Oil
Berries Sorbet with Lavender Cookies from Tartlette
Red Berry Popsicles from La Tartine Gourmande
Gooseberry & Raspberry Jam from Spectacularly Delicious

How about you? Do YOU happen to have any good ones to share?

Until we find freshly picked inspiration again,

A+H

2 responses

  1. What a wonderful story!  It’s inspired me to plant raspberries!! I planted just a stick of blackberries on my hill beside my home and they took off!!  I’ve made MANY pies! But how about I use your rasberry recipe for blackberries!  Great idea??? I’ll try it! Thanks, Linda Knight

    ________________________________

  2. I recently started taking Raspberry Ketones…watch the Dr Oz U tube video and you will know why! You might be on to something with these raspberries
    cheers

Leave a Reply

