Blueberry Pancakes with Strawberry Sauce {Sunday Brunch}

Now that he’s back to work in the restaurant putting in good 60 – 80 hour weeks, I’ve been left to my own devices.  At first I mourned the loss of his weekly brunch creations like this or this or this.  But then something clicked.  Wait a doggone minute! After years of watching him create, I HAD to have picked up a few skills outside of defrost, nuke or reheat. Right?!

So the tables have turned and it’s me, the chef’s widow that runs our little kitchen.  And Sunday mornings before he heads off to his shift have since become our new Friday nights.

This morning, I left my sleepy chef tucked in tight and went downstairs to get to work. With pancakes on the brain.  So appropriate for this particular weekend as it happens to me my grandfather’s (alias “Papa’s”) birthday weekend and it was through him that I learned how stacks of blueberry pancakes were done right.  It also happens to be our pretty little sister’s birthday today (aka Harrison step-sister, Rachel).  She too is quite the connoisseur although she likes her pancakes skinny more like these.

So in honor of everyone and in celebration of the acceptance that I too can get down and cook, today we’re devouring maple syrup drenched blueberry pancakes.  The recipe just so happens to be one of our own that I retested myself which you can find here.

Andrea’s Addition:
Strawberry Sauce
(from Better Homes & Garden’s Fresh & Easy Meals)

– (2) cups of fresh or frozen unsweetened strawberries, thawed
– (1) tablespoon sugar
– (1) teaspoon of vanilla

Directions:

1. In a blender container or food processor bowl combine strawberries, sugar and vanilla.

2. Cover and blend or process until smooth.

3.  In a small saucepan heat sauce until warm, then pour over your pancakes.

Until we eat again,

A + H

2 responses

Leave a Reply

