Decadent Spiked Hot Chocolate {Holiday Treats}

This past weekend while Harrison was off doing a stage, I put on my double layers, toboggan, boots and gloves and briskly walked downtown to see my home girl Jen on display at the “Touch of Vermont Holiday Market” at City Hall.

Guess whose friend got a new camera? No one's safe.

As I waited for the line to subside at her booth, I went ahead and moseyed around to see what this market was all about.  I, of course, gravitated towards a booth ‘o baked goods belonging to Butterfly Bakery of Vermont and got a whiff of some decadent vanilla that I just couldn’t resist.

Sweetest little bottle. Butterfly Bakery is located at 87 Barre St in Montpelier, VT.

When I returned I waved it around in front of Jen to show off the dreamy little bottle to which she asked, “So whattcha going to make?  Cookies? A cake?”

“A cocktail!”, I interjected and slid the little vial back in my camera bag and off I went.

Well actually I waited for Harrison to return so I could put in my request.  “How about a hot toddy?”, I announced.  “If you mean another hot chocolate…” he replied back with a knowing look in his eyes. “Yep, that’s right,” I said. “But this time, let’s make sure it’s spiked!”

Perfect for your upcoming holiday parties… why don’t we let loose on some Decadent Spiked Hot Chocolate, shall we? Two thumbs up, yes we shall.

Oh yeah. This is going to be good.

Ingredients:

  • (2) cups of organic whole or 2% milk
  • (1) cup of mini chocolate chips
  • (1) teaspoon of organic vanilla (we just loved ours from Butterfly Bakery of Vermont)
  • (1) Tablespoon of raw sugar
  • (1/4) cup of Bailey’s Irish Cream

Optional Additions:

  • (1) ounce (a.k.a. one shot) of peppermint schnapps
  • (4) to (6) ounces of freshly brewed dark roast coffee
  • (1) ounce of vodka (we like Barr Hill)…add this and you have what we call a Hot Black Russian

Directions:

1. Whisk your milk, sugar and vanilla together in a medium sauce pan and bring to a simmer on medium heat.

2. Then add in your chocolate and Bailey’s Irish Creme and whisk until blended (reduce heat to low).  You want to achieve a rich, velvety texture then turn off heat to serve.

Warm milk and chocolate. Feeling dreamy already...

3.  Pour into your cups and top with some fresh whipped cream (plus coffee or other optional additions if you please).

I wanted to just pour it straight into my mouth. But, got to be a lady.

Bottoms Up! Spiked with coffee to make a mocha on your left. Spiked with peppermint schnapps on your right!


Until we get decadent and dreamy again,

A + H

Want to see what Jen had on display?  Check out her etsy shop here.

2 responses

Leave a Reply

